Mitchell opposes royalties from radio stations

Radio Business Report:

The musicFirst Coalition trotted out a posse of nationally-known musicians to kick off the latest attempt to extract performance royalties out of radio stations. The two chairs of the Congressional Judiciary Committees Committees – Patrick Leahy (D-VT) and John Conyers (D-MI) are on board, along with supporters from both parties.

The musicians coming out in support of the move included, Sheryl Crow, Herbie Hancock, Emmylou Harris, Patti LaBelle, Matt Maher, Los Tigres del Norte, Rob Thomas Dionne Warwick.

Meanwhile, 16 members of Congress added their names to the list of those opposing such a move, including Robert Aderholt (R-AL), Spencer Bachus (R-AL), Charles Boustany (R-LA), Bruce Braley (D-IA), Vernon Ehlers (R-MI), Al Green (D-TX), Jim Jordan (R-OH), Jeff Miller (R-FL), Harry Mitchell (D-AZ), Tom Petri (R-WI), Todd Platts (R-PA), Dennis Rehberg (R-MT), Peter Roskam (R-IL), David Scott (D-GA), John Shimkus (R-IL), and Greg Walden (R-OR).

Comments are closed.